martes, 23 de septiembre de 2014

The SHARE Approach | Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)

The SHARE Approach | Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)

AHRQ--Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Advancing Excellence in Health Care

The SHARE Approach

A five-step process for shared decision making that includes exploring and comparing the benefits, harms, and risks of each option through meaningful dialogue about what matters most to the patient.

Step 1: Seek your patient's participation.
Step 2: Help your patient explore and compare treatment options.
Step 3: Assess your patient's values and preferences.
Step 4: Reach a decision with your patient.
Step 5: Evaluate your patient's decision.

SHARE Approach Tools

The SHARE Approach tools are a collection of references guides, posters, and other resources that support implementation of AHRQ's SHARE Approach to shared decision making in clinical practice settings. Tools in this collection include:

  • Step-by-step tips and sample talking points for implementing the SHARE Approach with patients.
  • Tips to communicate with patients who may come from different cultures or have limited skills in language or understanding of numbers and using the Teach-Back technique to enhance shared decision making.
  • An implementation guide for clinical practice teams.
  • A brief for administrators and other senior leaders outlining the benefits of using shared decision making.

SHARE Approach Workshop

The SHARE Approach Workshop is a one-day, accredited train-the-trainer program developed by AHRQ to help health care professionals work with patients to make the best possible health care decisions together.

This training focuses on how to engage patients in their health care decision making and how to use patient-centered outcomes research (PCOR) information tools and resources (e.g., patient decision aids) to help patients understand their treatment options and to explore their own values and preferences.

Seven hours of continuing medical education credits/continuing education units (CME/CE) will be awarded to participating physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nurse practitioners, certified diabetes educators, certified health educators, and pharmacists.

No hay comentarios: