sábado, 1 de febrero de 2014

ICD - Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and Disability

ICD - Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and Disability

There are two related classifications of diseases with similar titles, and a third classification on functioning and disability.
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the classification used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates.
The International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification is used to code and classify morbidity data from the inpatient and outpatient records, physician offices, and most National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) surveys.
NCHS serves as the World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Center for the Family of International Classifications for North America and in this capacity is responsible for coordination of all official disease classification activities in the United States relating to the ICD and its use, interpretation, and periodic revision.
The Collaborating Center also is responsible in North America for the WHO Family of International Classifications, which includes the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF).

Did You Know?
January 31, 2014
  • Big changes are coming on October 1, 2014, when the US will replace ICD-9-CM with ICD-10 code sets—a system used for classifying health conditions and in-hospital procedures.
  • This change has implications for the way public health officials monitor trends [PDF – 168 KB] in diseases, injuries, healthcare visits, and hospital inpatient procedures.
  • Public health entities should find out if their organization is affected and access helpful resources to plan for the transition by visiting CDC’s ICD-10 Transitionwebsite.
Graphic for Big Change Is Coming in October 2014

Please share this email with others interested in improving public health practice through evidence-based strategies. A library of "Did You Know?" information is available online.

No hay comentarios: